• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello fellow bird lovers

Pdog

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Pamela
I am so excited to learn from all the members. I rehomed 3 birds in Nov.

1 cockatiel
2 parrotlets

I am not a new bird owner, having had a variety of birds in our home for about 25 years. I thought I had enough experience to take on the parrotlets. I knew they were feisty, but wasn’t expecting all the attempts at biting.
I have no background on the prior family, or why they had to be rehomed, birds sex or age is unknown.
Clearly they are afraid of hands. I will continue to take it slow.
She, Pickles, is happy to step up to come out and explore, fly to me , follows me around, perch on my shoulder, nap on me, but will attack my hands and bare feet. Getting her back in the cage takes time . Step up means a bite most likely. She will hop on my arm for millet and then goes in the cage. He, Peekaboo, needs to be coaxed out with food. He is not inclined to explore yet, prefers to hide in my hair and hang out on my shoulder. Neither allow head touches. She seems to be cage aggressive and food aggressive. I clean her cage, arrange toys etc when she is out.
I will work on the hand fear first. Any advice is welcome. I will look at prior posts for information. They are cute as can be, and I will be patient. It’s only been 3 months, right???
Pearl , the cockatiel is super sweet and just loves to be out with me. She doesn’t play too much with toys, not sure of her past home history or age either. I am experimenting with different textures of toys to find her favorites. I have a few foraging stations and she likes to hang out there.She likes to eat and is a big girl at 109 grams, so I can’t be treat happy with her. She loves to shower with me!
Life is good.

Attachments

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month