• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hanicapped Lovebird. Don't know what to do!

Melaniealbert

Moving in
Hi!
I'm new to this
Just signed in today

I'm getting stressed and desperate

I have a beautiful pair of Peachface Lovebirds

Unfortunately the female has had an issue with her spine
Her toes stopped working, that was 3 weeks ago and now her legs have stopped

The vet has recommended putting her down BUT I've done plenty of research and there are plenty of handicapped birds

She's happy and healthy
She's adapted and is eating and drinking

But the situation is completely stressing me out

She isn't tame so it's a real struggle for us

I've made a little cubby out of a tissue box, I put her in there and watch TV in bed and see sits by my head

She's placid and fine but once I put her back in her cage, she's fearful again

I'm trying to tame her, I need lots of advise on that
We've been to the vets and had plenty of medicine so she's quite stressed but I think I've calmed her down a little bit

And I need advise on keeping her without moving legs

Anyone out there with a handicapped bird with paralysed legs
Explain how it works and if it's a happy life

She's in no pain and is healthy it's not fair to put her down

I really want this to work out

Birdbabe

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Sometimes these spine injuries heal, did the vet discuss steriod shots? I've seen peralyzed birds at the wildlife rescue make a complete recovery. I would get a second opinion, if the vet was so quick to put her down. I also wouldn't put her back in the cage if it scares her, a small carrier or your cubby you made for her should be better. Others will be here soon, and many of us have special birds. They can have a full and happy life. :hug8:

Melaniealbert

Moving in