• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hand taming

KellyBean

Meeting neighbors
Hi there, I'm new here. I'm also new to birds. This will be my first. I've decided to get a linnie. It's not been hand raised.
So what are some tips for getting it to tame?
And when do I expect the nippy adolescent stage? How long does that typically last?
Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Dona

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Hey Kelly, I am also new here and wanted to say hello. I have a hand fed 3 month old Linnie so I don't have too much to offer in the way of advice yet. This Linnie section is a little quiet but there are Linnie parents on the board that mostly have multiple birds and post in the general sections. I wish it was more active because I would love to talk specifically about Linnies. I have had many birds in my life and my Linnie is perhaps my favorite. All parrot in this little package. My Gigi is really playful, busy and happy. She is very quiet, a few contact calls to us and outside birds that she hears through the windows, then chirping and muttering to herself often. She does a kiss and come here whistle already so that will be fun if she is a good mimic. She is super interested in everything going on and very friendly to visitors, including my young grandchildren. She doesn't want to step up while in the cage or on top, but happy to when away from the cage. I use a rope perch to get her to me when she stands on the door of the cage, but it takes patience. However I can pet her through the bars of the cage easily. She will hang from the cage wall and I can pet her her belly, neck and beak. She will hang there forever. :)