• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hand-Taming a Cockatiel?

ashbrightside

Moving in
Real Name
Ashton
I got my first bird, a cockatiel named Buddy, about nine months ago. We found out that though he was advertised as a baby, he’s an adult and at least a few years old. I have no clue of his background, unfortunately. I tried to start hand-taming him early, but he seemed averse to hands, so I thought he would outgrow it as I got to know him better and brushed it off.
Buddy enjoys coming up to the cage when I’m around him, and often sings to me when I talk to him- not to mention angrily screaming for me to come back whenever I’m out of his sight. However, whenever I put my hand up to the cage or in the cage, he hisses and nips at me. I try to move as calmly and gently as possible. I’ve tried hand-feeding him millet, which has helped a little, but he still doesn’t trust me enough to perch on my hand. I’ve managed to gently stroke his beak before, but not without a hiss.
I know some birds hate contact from hands, so the last thing I want to do is make Buddy uncomfortable. However, I really want to be able to have him perch on my hand and to be able to bond with him up close. However, since he doesn’t let people touch him, his wings aren’t clipped, which makes taming all the more harder, since if I let him out of the cage he flies around and avoids me at all costs. Does he like me or am I bothering him? Should I continue to try to get him used to hands, and if so, how?

Tiel Feathers

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Deanna