• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Green conure Behavior

ricksan

Moving in
Hello, I'm very new to having birds as pets and I've been taking alot of info in over the past couple of weeks (mostly from here). And I have a question about one of my birds behavior.
I have 2 birds one a Green checked conure and the other one is a sun conure. I got both of them from my brothers ex when they broke up. My brother's ex was not very good with all the animals she had and neglected both the birds alot.

Now onto the problems I'm seeing. The sun conure is good as gold will sometimes let me touch him and will sit on my shoulder and will never bite me unless if I don't let him sit on my cups but the green conure is in lack ID better terms an a hole. He'll bite me if I get close to him he'll walk up to my hands and bite them and he'll even land on my hands just to bite them. He'll only bite my hands, ears, eyelids, and the bridge of my nose but then will sit there and prune the back of my hands. I've watch alot of videos that say they can help this kind of behavior but I don't think any of those methods would work for this bird.

I appreciate any ans all help and advice

WillowQ

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Heather Gerbyshak
I think I would stop allowing the gcc to be on my shoulder, since he’s biting. I don’t let a bird on my shoulder until I can assume he’s not going to bite. I suggest you take some steps back and start over with him, feeding him some treats safely and learning how to avoid bites.
Gcc can be very nippy. More than Sun conures. When I had a gcc I only kept him out for about 15 min at a time. More than that got him overwhelmed and he bit me. I don’t think he was trying to be mean, I think he was simply too wound up.