• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Green Cheek Conure making weird noise? Help?

Mason and Kiwi

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
Hey, so I just got my green cheek conure, Kiwi, a little over a week ago. (She is also my first parrot so I am new to all of this and I just have plenty of concerns, but I also do plenty of research.) We have already bonded pretty well, and I took her to the vet yesterday for a checkup, and let her listen to these sounds, and she says they are because she is content and not because she has any sort of respiratory infection since she didn't seem to be breathing hard during the checkup, but I am still a little concerned. Could it be from dry air? I went to visit the vet because she constantly scratches at her head, and the vet said it’s probably the dryness in my room and the changes of weather because she has no mites or lice whatsoever and she’s in good health. I’ll be getting a humidifier pretty soon, so maybe she’s making the noises because of clogged sinuses and lack of humidity? I also notice that sometimes when she makes the sound, she opens her mouth and presses her tongue against the roof of her mouth? It’s a cute squeaker toy noise, but I'm still unsure if that's normal/healthy. When I uncovered her cage this morning and she saw me, she gets excited and also slightly made the noise. I replace her food once a day and her water dish multiple times a day, and I do not have any candles or Teflon or anything she could breathe in that would be bad for her. Kiwi does grind her beak, and it is a distinct sound that I am already familiar with at this point and this is definitely not it. She makes them in her cage during bed time, when she sleeps/falling asleep, and when she snuggles into my neck to take a nap. She woke me up almost at exactly 4am for the past few night making that sound and also scratching at her