• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Got my first lovebird, looking for advice

cathodoer

Meeting neighbors
Last thursday I got my very first lovebird, a hand-reared blue peach-face (I think!). I have experience with budgies and cockatiels but I'm very new to owning a lovebird and I'd like some advice.

So far it seems to have settled in well, it's playing with its toys, chirping away, eating and drinking, all well, I'm just not sure about some of its behaviour. It chirps away very loud all day long, is this normal? A healthy sign? I'm fine with the noise, I'm used to my other birds, I just want to know if it is a sign of illness or not. I've noticed it quiets down a bit when I sit next to it, but I'm not sure if this is out of comfort or fear.

Since this little one is hand reared I'm not having much trouble with it, it's not scared of people and is fine getting covered at night and seems OK when I slowly put my hand on the bars, even nibbled some millet a couple days go through the bars! But I want to know, how soon should I start putting my hand in the cage? I haven't done so yet but should I start now, or is it too early? Do I put my hand in on its own or maybe hold some millet? Or do I try to get it to step onto a stick or something before attempting with my hands? I really don't want to frighten it, it's such a sweetheart. I just want it to know my hands are nothing to fear.

Oh, I haven't let it out of the cage yet as I wanted my other birds to get used to its presence as well as let it settle, but I know they're a very energetic species and I'd like for it to stretch its wings soon. When should I let it out? When it's used to my hands and steps up maybe? I know teaching that can take a while though but I suppose it's early days yet!!

Thanks so much for any help

LunaLovebird

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran