• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Flight Feather Clipping

joshuas.0718

Sitting on the front steps
Real Name
Joshua Saarela
Hi, I am new to birds, and am interested in the Meyer's Parrot. However, I am very confused on the whole feather clipping in general. I have looked it up everywhere and I do not understand what the point of it is. Is it true that after they are clipped the bird is "flightless", but then regrows them? Is it true that you should clip them when they are young because it is easier to train them, and then let their feathers grow out?

Thanks!

Cassiopejaz

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Daniel
When clipped they are considerd flightless but they can fly if the clipping is badly done or its windy.
They grow back after a while..How Long i dont know cuz i never clipped any of My Birds
Some ppl say its easier...But Thats like forcing them to like ya...I find it better to earn their trust the right way even if it takes a bit longer.
Oh and a flighted parrot is a Happy parrot...Thats My view on it.

JLcribber

@cockatoojohn
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
John
I have looked it up everywhere and I do not understand what the point of it is.
Well that's good because the "ONLY" point of clipping a bird's wings is for human convenience and laziness. It has NOTHING to do with what is good or needed to for the bird. You can't learn to ride a bike (well) if someone insists on flattening the tires (clip).

If people can't provide a conducive environment to let birds fly safely (bird room/aviary) they really shouldn't be getting a bird.

All anyone has to ask themselves "honestly" is why do you want a bird if you don't want it to fly? Seems like a lot of self indulgence or ego or something.

txdyna65