• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

First time tiel owner HELP

Nikki Campbell

Moving in
..I just got a pair of cockatiels almost 4 days ago and I feel like I've already messed up the initial bonding process...could you pleaseeee help me and give me alittle bit of insight on how you were able to start bonding with your cockatiels ? Mine are babies were born in November..and they are supposed to know how to step up and and were hand fed ..but they are so frightened of my hands ever since I brought them home ..I've followed all of my instructions and knowledge that I was told but I feel like they hate me :(

charlieboy

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Steph
Hey Nikki! I'm pretty new to cockatiels too but I hope I can help at least a tiny bit. Patience is key in everything when it comes to bird taming or training! My 'tiel was already pretty warmed up to me when I brought him home since I visited and spent time with him regularly at the breeder. But from what I read, it can take 3-5 weeks for them to get used to you, it depends on the bird. Spend time around their cage, have it in the room you're in, read, talk or sing to them, slowly put your hand closer to their cage if they are reacting positively, all super gently! If they seem scared, give them their space. Once they get used to the above, slowly move towards putting your hand in their cage and teaching them to step up, as long as they do not seem too stressed. Patience, patience. I am certain they don't hate you! It is just a really big adaptation. You can do it, with patience and care! Good luck and keep us updated! :)

charlieboy

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Steph