• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

"English Budgie" or "American Parakeet?"

Gussy

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Alexis
I was hand feeding two babies I got from a breeder who said they are English Budgies. Now I'm kind of wondering if the one I still have really is indeed or if it is an "American Parakeet." I know they are the same species, but I was hoping for the bigger, more laid back English Budgies I have read so much about. A friend of mine who has many parakeets says she thinks my baby isn't English. Is there any way to tell? She's about 7 weeks old now.

IMG_3122.JPG IMG_3090.JPG

jmfleish

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jen
He looks like an English Budgie to me but I'm no expert!;)

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
How much does he weigh? My larger EB weighs in at 48 grams. My other one is a small EB at 43 grams. If you go by size he looks English. I don't see the beard like feathers and larger head. He could be a mix of American and English. Is there a leg band? One thing for sure he is not 100 percent American

Gussy

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Alexis
I don't have a scale small enough to weigh her and she doesn't have a leg band. I thought compared to the tiels she looked quite small, but I've rarely been around EBs. I assume she'll keep growing too since she's so young still?

Thanks for the feedback!

Gussy

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Alexis
I guess according to the video, she'd be American?

Monica

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Monica
If not full english then definitely of english descent!