• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Eclectus Screaming at 6 months

Sarah_K

Moving in
Hey everyone,
I am relatively new to the Ekkie world. I am the proud owner of a 6 month old eclectus boy named Benji. I got him when he was just over 4 months. He was super quiet for 2 weeks, then in the last month and a half every time he sees me he caws really loudly. It will only start if he can see me and totally quiets down and barely makes a peep if he can not see me. Even if he is out on his tree stand and I am on the couch, he will scream out loudly for hours. If I am lucky and he does quiet down, if I try to praise him or give him a treat, it just starts the screaming up all over again.

He plays well with toys. His weight has gone up like 20 grams since I have had him. We have been to the vet twice and he is perfectly healthy. We tried doing some comfort hand feedings with baby bird formula at night and he never wanted to take it. He otherwise gets veggies and fruits twice a day, with some organic pellets at night.

Most of what I have been reading is that some Eclectus do this when they are younger and grow out of it. My question is, anyone know how long it typically lasts? I can put up with it but my husband and neighbors are not as appreciative of the noise. Any other advice or help from Ekkie owners would be greatly appreciated.

EkkieLu

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Tricia
Welcome Aboard! I'm so glad you're here!