• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Discouraging unwanted behaviour?

lisaraby

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Lisa
Hello folks!

Indie and I have been getting along fairly well! She loves being out of her cage when I am home and she loves chewing on anything and everything she can find - including my phone and the remote control, which she believes belong to her. I've taken to hiding my phone when I'm at home, but I'm a supply teacher and use it to get jobs, so I can't feasibly put it away. I'm scared of her cracking the screen (even though it has a big case on it) and hurting herself.

Is there a way to discourage her phone biting behaviour? I've tried redirecting her attention, moving her, giving her something else to chew on, and nothing. As soon as I get her away from the phone, if it's within sight (or if it's charging, she'll follow the charger to it!) she will hunt it out and chew away. She's started doing this with my computer too, pulling the keys off the keyboard, especially when I'm working on it! I's really like to nip this behaviour in the bud (pardon the pun!).

Thanks for your suggestions, in advance!

Here's a picture of Indie trying to figure out the outdoors and watching snow fall - so you can get an idea of how sweet she can be when she wants to be! 20180115_151714.jpg

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
I think all you can do is try to redirect her. Does she have a play stand that she can play on when she's out? When they want to chew something, they can be pretty relentless about it.

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin