• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Deformed Tail Feather?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chirpie

Moving in
Hello all, I'm a newbie to your forums and noticed you all give great advice so I'd like to ask about my budgie Blue. Awhile back I awoke in horror to see blood splattered all over the cage. He had pulled out a tail feather sometime in the night. The feather was wasn't quite normal, it was short and too narrow the end was twice the normal size and had something that looked like the start of another feather poking out of it. Almost as if two had grown in in the same place but one had broken off. He seemed like his normal self and no worse for the experience so I thought it must've been a freak occurance and left it at that. Now today about a month later I notice he has a new feather almost identical to the one he pulled. I'm worried about going to the vet as thier is no avian vet where I live and thier opinion seems to always be, "budgies are too small to do much with, better to put them out of thier misery". What could be going wrong with his tail? Should I try to pull it before he does? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Here is a pic of the feather he pulled: . Pictures, . Images, . Photos, . Videos - Image - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting

ncGreyBirdLady

They call Me crazy like its a bad thing!
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Bonnie

suncoast

Cruising the avenue
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Ginger