• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Decision made - getting an Amazon...

Cazcooky

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Carol
image.jpg I have been researching different species for a few months now. Always wanted an Amazon, but got turned off by stories I had heard. Anyway, re educated about the differences between subspecies, so getting a female yellow crown.
Found a lovely breeder (haven't seen any Amazons for rehoming, and looking for a baby to bond), hens are sitting on eggs now. Breeder will harness train, begging recall training, etc
Next step is cage..
Suggested to me not too big, not too small. Too big, baby feel overwhelmed, needs feeling of security. Too small, easy to understand.
What size do you recommend? The too big concept got me.
Attached is one I found, breeder said is suitable size.

Cazcooky

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Carol
Next, I said will have to get toys. Breeder suggested get steady supply of branches to chew instead. Makes sense. So much enrichment for bird to explore variety of flowers, seed pods etc (thinking mostly Australian natives as I know many safe varieties)

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Congrats on your new bird to be. :)

MommyBird

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Debbie
Yellow Crowns are not the largest Amazon. I wonder what the bar spacing is on that cage?
If it is one inch it would probably be safe enough but she would have an easier time climbing around with a 5/8 inch. 3/4 inch also OK.
Personally I don't like those top openings...inconvenient and potentially dangerous. I do really like if they have a section that swings down to make a deck.

Cazcooky

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Carol