• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cricket the Quaker

QuirkyQuaker96

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Heather
Hi guys! So I'm new to this site and I thought I'd introduce myself and my wonderful cricket Around January 8th I purchased a rescue Quaker. Now I say rescue because he and his friends (a red and blue Macaw, a cockatoo, and an African gray) were all in tiny cages in a wire cage outside.

The only protection they had from the elements were blue tarps secured with zip ties. Now I had to pay for him, but it was so worth it because now he has a forever home. When I first saw him my heart broke. He was in a tiny tiny cage. Now I'm not an avian expert by any means, but I knew this cage was too tiny for him. No bigger than 11 inches tall and 14 wide. I felt so bad for him so I asked his price and I took him home that day.

He was angry. So angry. He head butted his cage, screamed at me, and he hated hands. There's no doubt in my mind that he was abused and mistreated. It's been a long and stressful road already and I know I've got more work to do. In only a month I'm able to have him "step up" onto my bare fingers. He's learned an amazing amount of new words and sounds, he loves to sit on my shoulder and clean (preen?) my ears neck and hair. He even allows me to pet him and give him scratches while he's on his cage. He's become such a great pet and I'm excited to enjoy this journey with him.

So, I would like to know if you guys have any advice on quakers. Bathing, general care, toy ideas even though my cricket doesn't really play with his toys I still offer them. Any advice helps

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle