• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Considering a pionus ... or Meyer...or Indian Ringneck

Ncphillips2

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Nicole Phillips
First of, I'm TOTALLY new here, so bear with me. I'm just beginning my research (again) into a little feathered friend. I say again because we just recently lost our little Green Cheek Conure, Bazil. He was my five year old daughter's very best friend and she's just devastated over it. As we all are. I'm just now starting to consider getting another, but this time I'm going slower and doing WAY more research!

Like I said, I loved my little Bazil, but he drove me up the wall with the screeching....and my husband was going crazy with it too. Who knew such a small little thing could be so LOUD? ALL. THE. TIME. I honestly don't mind some noise, but I'm convinced conures aren't the right fit for us. No matter how funny they are.

I'm considering a Pious or a Meyer, but I have a few questions/concerns. I know we're speaking in generalities here, and every bird will be different, but for the most part, I'm worried that the Pionus will be TOO laid back, and that the Meyer will be standoffish. This will be very much a family bird, but I'll be the main caretaker. However, it would be very hard to have a bird who dislikes certain family members. So, it needs to be

-Reasonably quiet (I know that's relative, but not one who will scream about anything and everything)

- Good with several people

- Smaller in size

-Playful but not aggressive.