• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Breeding quakers

BirdsWillFly

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Hayley
I have a lovely little pallid blue quaker (a tame pet) that I would love to breed. I have no breeding experience whatsoever but I do have hand rearing experience as I rehabilitate wildlife.

My question is where would I start? Is it possible to introduce a female and then have a tame pair of breeding quakers? Are there deadly genes I should look out for? What sort of environment do these birds need to breed? I'd love any input that can be given. Thanks in advance!

cosmolove

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Erica (:
There is a lot to consider when looking into the idea of breeding. The first thing I would ask yourself is "Why do you want to breed?" The answer to that alone can tell you if you should or if you should not.

One of the biggest things to consider is that you mention you have a very tame quaker. This often will do a 360. Your bird will not likely want anything to do with you. Even after breeding I've heard of some that never go back to being tame again. It is extremely rare for them to remain tame. Most breeding pairs often get very mean from what I've seen. The next thing to consider is that quakers are a bird that is often rehomed. Various states have bans against them and they can be very loud. I probably see rehoming ads for them almost as much as I see ads rehoming budgies. Then you'll have to handfeed, you mention you've done it before which is great but make sure you have the proper time and you are 100% comfortable with handfeeding. Generally breeders pull from the nest anywhere between when the baby's are being fed every 2-4 hours. So if you work a full time job this probably isn't an option.