• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Biting problem

Gizmo The GCC

Meeting neighbors
Hi! I was hoping if anyone could give me advice about a green cheek conure about 2 years old who bites quite hard, and hasn't bonded with me yet. I want to know if there's any advice that can help me reduce this problem.

So here's the story:
I was just trying to interact with her through the cage bar by putting my fingers just outside so that she could explore it, but she sometimes just runs to it (Don't know if that's wanting to play or bite my nails off), and sometimes she does follow my hands around being cute and all, but when I let it close to her mouth, there comes the hard bite.
She does this whether I have my painted or not. So, that shouldn't be a problem I think.

Also, does me playing like this through the cage bar encourage this behavior? I'm still a newbie here. Please do give me lots and lots of advice.

Thank you so much.

msplantladi

Jogging around the block
Avenue Veteran
The cage is her safe place, your hands/fingers are terrifying her. How long have you had her? Are you able to get her to step up when asked?

Jas

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Jasmine
I have two GCC who I share a good bond with ( they will sleep on my shoulder, preen each other and me while sat on my hands, will fly to me if there is something scary etc). If I put my fingers IN their cage I will be bitten. It's their territory, target training is a good idea and is a more positive interaction. Also sticking your fingers in front of a birds beak is asking for a bite, and I would stop 'playing' through the bars because the bird may think it's threatening.