• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Bird Talk Magazine Subscription.....Worth it?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KimKimWilliamson

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Kim Williamson
Thinking of getting a Bird Talk Magazine Subscription. Does anyone here have one, and do you think it's worth getting? Does it supply much more information than we get access to here?

Shade

Crazy for Pois!
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Natacha
I have a subscription - part of a gift my boyfriend made me.
Had it for a few years now and if it wasn't for him just renewing it, I wouldn't bother.

For one, the information from year to year is rather similar unless there is some new breakthrough, but chances are you would here about that on the forum as well.

The magazine is also less thick than it used to be and seems to be mostly ads.

Meatball

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Yes there are a lot of ads in it but I still love to get it every month:D

For like $8 a year I think it is worth it

Jan

Stainless Bird Toys @ Blu's Bird Toys
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Jan
Yes there are a lot of ads in it but I still love to get it every month:D
For like $8 a year I think it is worth it
Believe it or not, less ads = less articles. Ok, so I have been subscribing to Bird Talk since 1987 ... at that time they consistantly had like 170ish pages. I think Bird Talk Mag started new like in 1985. Well, so I've read articles over the years and they really do go in circles, after all how many times can you write about the same specie over the amount of years they've been publishing?!