• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

bird poo?

RadLad

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
RadLad
Hi, I would like to confirm whether or not my cockatiel has normal poop. His diet consists of millet, chia, flaxseed, and crushed pellets.

20190620_125421.jpg
20190620_125418.jpg
20190620_125416.jpg

Tara81

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Tara
Some of it looks normal.. but I’m not a poop expert... lol. Why aren’t you offering vegetables or sprouts daily?

You should weigh your bird daily as well, especially since you are changing its diet.

rocky'smom

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
laurie
Ok, what kind of pellets? Any type of mash or veggies offered? Flaxseeds only work well for our feathered friends if they are cooked or crushed, chia same thing. Millet should only be a treat.

RadLad

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
RadLad
The flaxseed and chia are crushed, the pellet is from SmartHeart (there are no other brands available in my area).. I offer him fruits and veggies every day, but he doesn't seem to realize it's food.

He's only been with me for two weeks. So he's not yet tame, I can barely even touch him.

For the millet seed, it isn't the spray millet one.

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
When you have a new bird it is recommended that this bird see an avian vet for a wellness check. If you are feeding the right foods for cockatiel species then the poo should look ok. If you are not then it is a problem. It looks a little off color to me but I am not an avian vet and neither are other members here. So now if you say there are no avian vets where I live try looking again. Even a regular vet would be better than no vet check up.

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran