• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Befriending Kiwi the lovebird

Andreea Velea

Moving in
Real Name
Andreea Velea
This is where I'll post updates about how Kiwi is doing and about how our relationship is evolving.

Some of you might remember that a while ago I made a post asking for advice on how I should tame my boy( whom after a visit to the vet is now decidedly a boy). I received a bunch of wonderful advice from lots of people and because of that Kiwi is doing great right now. I fell that I have a responsibility to keep you all updated because of that.
Also I am by no means an expert so I might need more advice down the line.

I got Kiwi at a pet store, and he was not tame at all, terrified of people and especially hands. He is flighted, probably having lived in an aviary with his buds before being brought to the store. So he was pretty unhappy with his cage at first, looking for a spot he could escape whenever he heard other birds outside. He'd get scared whenever I moved around and wouldn't chirp at all.

I placed his cage in a spot where he could see me at all times, and I'd talk or sing as often as I could. Then one morning he surprisingly joined in. Can't tell you how happy I was to hear a sound from him.He also got pretty chill with my hand being on his cage.

Things got gradually better and one day I decided I'd let him out from his cage. Oh boy, what a day that was.