• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Beak Tip Turning Black?

Loor

Meeting neighbors
Hi, uh, this is my first time making a post so please forgive me if I accidentally break some rules. But anyways, lately the tip of my Lovie’s, Maya, beak has been turning black. Oddly enough, it’s not always black, it’s usually an somewhat transparent yellow but occasionally it seems to be black, and the black is more pronounced at random times. It also seems like it turns black when she’s about to/taking a bath. Mind you, it’s not pitch black, but fairly dark. Does anyone here know what’s up with that? Should I be concerned?

Loor

Meeting neighbors
Also, just thought I’d add that she’s healthy otherwise.

DQTimnehs

Ri-DQ-lously crazy 4 TAGs!
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jennifer
Can you post pix? Has she eaten any food that could stain like berries?

Animallover03

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Audrey
Also could she have fallen/ran into anything? It could potentially be a bruise on her beak. Though you say it is only there sometimes, so this is unlikely.

Loor

Meeting neighbors
Can you post pix? Has she eaten any food that could stain like berries?
I’ll try for pictures tomorrow since she’s asleep now, and now she hasn’t eaten anything that would stain.

Loor

Meeting neighbors
Also could she have fallen/ran into anything? It could potentially be a bruise on her beak. Though you say it is only there sometimes, so this is unlikely.
As much as she does enjoy ramming her head into random objects, I don’t believe that’s the case, since the black doesn’t last longer than an hour or two when it appears like it would if it were a bruise.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue