• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Baby-Making Considerations

TippiBird

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Rae
Hi guys! I'm in need of some help.
I've had my female 14 y/o Congo for 13 years, but I think she could be happier if she were not in an indoor cage and got more attention (I live in a coop so she lives with my parents). Someone coming over to do house repairs saw her and said he has been looking for a mate for his 20 y/o male Grey, who lives in a large outdoor area that I am welcome to examine. They would have chicks and he plans to keep them and basically have a parrot family. I have zero knowledge on this subject.

a) Would they keep reproducing until they weren't mating age anymore, meaning there would be an endless stream of babies?
b) Is there a possibility the babies would reproduce with each other?
c) What are the chances that my Grey and his will actually like each other, and how will I know? I know some birds just don't get along well, is there a chance my Grey could get hurt?
*I will post this on Avian Avenue as well, but thought there could be some important info that is Grey-specific

aooratrix

Macawaholic
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
He doesn't want to sell any future babies??? Also, domestic parrots that have been pets often never produce. She's better off as your pet, IMO.

BirdGuy21

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Jake
When you say kept in an indoor cage, does your Grey get to come out of the cage and spend time with you everyday?

jmfleish

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jen