• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here
  • This forum is for advice about initial treatment given to your injured/sick bird until a qualified avian veterinarian is available.
    THIS IS NOT MEANT TO REPLACE VET CARE

Urgent Baby Conure won't Eat!

Ultramandyna

Strolling the yard
Hi,

I have recently bought a new baby green-cheek conure a few days ago. He is 8 weeks old and has been hand fed by the breeder, but has not been eating from my hand whatsoever for the past 3 days. I'm really worried and he has only been eating corn and refuses to touch anything else. What should I do? I have no experience raising a baby conure before.

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Did you contact the breeder? That baby needs to eat and you need to be monitoring the weight on a daily basis. Return to breeder and have him/her finish hand feeding the baby. That would be my first recommendation. You have no experience. Best that breeder take baby back and return to you when he/she is fully weaned. Is that a possibility? Did the breeder take any time with you at all to show you how to hand feed and watch how you were doing it?
Are there any droppings? What have you been offering besides formula and corn?
Are you checking the temperature of the formula and making sure it is not too thick or too thin? Are you feeding the same thing the breeder was feeding? Are you using a syringe or spoon?
Are you weighing the baby daily?
Where do you keep the baby?

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner