• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

baby caique help

Marcoaaron

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Marco
I recently purchased a caique and it happened to be 5-6 weeks old. I was told he was older but clearly he is not. The man was trying to rehome him asap. So I picked him up. Here is the issue.
This white bellied caique cry's ALOT and doesnt stop. I've fed him 15ml of formula 3 times a day. I've double checked the temperature of the room at 75-85 F . I have given him all of my attention and he still crys. His formula was served at 105 F . When I out him in his area and leave he crys for about 20 minutes and then stops. When I first took him home he was not crying.

Attachments

Garet

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Garet
He's a baby. Babies cry a lot. In the wild, they wouldn't be left alone at all.

I'm no expert, but I think three feedings a day might be a little low, too.

jennluna

Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Jenn
He needs to be on a heating pad still I would think. Their skin temp is much hotter than ours and he might be crying because he’s cold. Feel his skin. Does it feel warm? Or hot?

melissasparrots

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
How much does he weigh in grams? You should have a gram scale and weigh him each morning on an empty crop. My feeling is that you are under feeding him but the best way to advise beginners on how much to feed is to go by the weight of the chick.
I've been told caiques are a little different and mature slow for the size of the bird. You might need to increase anount fed and try feeding 3-4 times a day or whenever the crop looks mostly empty. Let his crop empty completely for an hour or so at night, but otherwise feed when not quite empty through the day unless he starts refusing food.

Marcoaaron

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Marco