• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Amazon rehabilitation - reaching out to AA members on their advice and expertise

Hawk12237

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Michael
Hi all you beautiful parronts!
Have a question I've been toying with in my brain for past several months. Rehibilitating my Blue front Amazon to be able to fly again.
My BFA ( poppers) is 14, came to me as a rescue ( third parront) when she was 7. When I first got her I noticed she couldn't fly. Never been clipped. But she tried a couple time and went straight to the floor on an angle. Her left wing would flap, her right wing would only extend part way and not flap. I thought that was odd.
A vet visit for her first visit when I took her on revealed she had a damaged wing, an old injury possibly between age 1-4, where she damaged her shoulder area where she folds wing. And possibly her keel. Xrays revealed improperly healed wing. Possibly never taken to vet from previous owner. ( first parront).
Now fast forward 7 years, she is still unable to fly since I had her. Back in March this year she had a full check up, everything normal (blood tests and that), and elected to get another xray of her wing. Nothing has changed. She has an occasional nerve spasm of that wing. She'll drop it down slightly and shake the wing, just that bad wing in an odd way.
I mention it in past to vet but he was unable to see her do it until this past visit. Says it's nerve.
And that I could do physical therapy on her wing to help her out.
Well that's a new one for me, so I've been researching but nothing definitive. She will let me rub under her wing, but she'll push my hand away slowly and nibble ( not bite) my hand.
I feel for her, and still maintain hope to see her fly, so willing to hear suggestions from AA members that may have dealt with an issue like this.