• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Aggressive GCC, Please Help

SadZhongli

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello, all,

This is my first time on this forum, and I'm looking for some advice. I'm sort of at my wits end and I'm not entirely sure what to do at all. The GCC that is the subject of this forum post is not mine, but belongs to my sister, who is away at college. I will try to make this as short as possible, but this may be long. Also, apologies for this being all over the place.

So, for the past seven years, my family has had a GCC named Zero. Zero started out friendly enough, nipping gently every now and then as conures tend to do, but nothing extreme. At around the 1-1.5 year mark, though, he got very, very aggressive with us. He would bite, and bite hard. He has bitten myself and other family members numerous times hard enough to draw blood. He would fly to us just to bite us and not let go. The only person he does not bite is my sister, who he is bonded to and is very tame around.

Both of my parents are older and so I do not want to give the responsibility of taming Zero onto them. However, I've tried everything with Zero. New toys, respecting his boundaries, spending more and more time with him to get him used to me, but it isn't working. His diet and sleeping schedule have been the same since we've had him, so I don't think it could be that.