• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Advice for ringneck owner

parrot.lady

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello...I am new to the avian avenue world and initially joined so I have a place to talk about my sweet African ring neck named Petrie. :) I rescued him in April of this year, April 1st to be exact, and was told he was around a year old and he already had a full ring. He was extremely un tame from the start but never aggressive, just afraid due to his past and his fear of hands. He has made so much progress (personality wise) from that point. He wouldn't allow me to go anywhere near him and would attempt to fly (although his wings were clipped, which I did not have a choice in the matter) and he was as silent as a mouse. He has since learned to come out of his shell and has become far more comfortable. He chirps, giggles, dances for random objects, and makes typical ring neck noises. Since I have rescued him he has gone through a very long and heavy molt, in which his clipped feathers have fallen out and have been replaced with very long healthy ones. So with that being said, he is now flighted (and he very much so uses this to his advantage). Because of his past, he is very afraid of hands and will not allow me anywhere near him without wearing gloves and it breaks my heart because I cannot handle him otherwise without him flying away. Are there any tips to gain his trust and try to free him of his fear of hands? ~sorry for such a long intro but he is a very long story~

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew