• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Adopted the lovely miss Coco!!!

Emily&coco

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Emily king
Hello everyone! its my first time posting here! after a TON of research and much waiting I've finally adopted my first green cheek conure! The previous owner unfortunetly could no longer give her the time she needed, but I could tell she was really heartbroken to give her up and that coco was very much loved. the lady that I got her from was able to handle her no problem and although she isn't scared of me she's pretty shy. ive been talking to her a lot and she seems pretty comfortable around me (she's playing with her toys and preening when i'm sitting beside the cage) However, she has yet to take any treats from my hand through the bars of the cage. I was wondering if maybe because she has bonded with her previous owner for three years she might not want to bond with me? also any more recommendations for treats? ive tried apple, bananas, and sunflower seeds. Thanks!! :)

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Welcome to the forum :fairy2:

How wonderful of you to take in Coco, I´m sure it was a sad decision for the prev. owner but she had the birds best intentions at heart.

It will take Coco some time to adjust, she has a new family and a new home now. Everything is new for her. Take it slowly and you will get there in the end :)

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Don't worry about bonding. Let your new sweetie lead the way. Just keep doing what you are doing and have patience. A human must earn the bond with a companion bird and you have not had her for enough time yet.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month