• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

8 year old eclectus suddenly flicking

Tikisong305

Moving in
Joey, our 8 year old has suddenly started flicking his wings. It's almost constant but more at night and it goes on almost all night long. He's also less curious, less social and he seeks out darkness. He had a stressful summer but life has been back to normal for almost a month before the flicking and other behavior changes . His diet has been pretty much the same his whole life.

He's not losing feathers, his grip is strong, his appetite is consistent...he's just not himself.

I appreciate any thoughts or ideas. Thanks!

Attachments

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
I'm not an Ekkie expert, but I do know that the majority of toe tapping and wing flipping in Ekkies is caused by diet. Pellets seem to be the biggest offenders. Some Ekkie people will be along to help you.

@EkkieLuv @Milo

Milo

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jenny
Definitely take him in for a vet check. The exact cause of toe tapping and wing flipping isn't known, but one thought is nerve pain. I'm not a huge believer in true allergies in eclectus parrots due to the fact that allergies have not been well described in parrots. It's not even fully known how their white blood cells function in comparison to those of mammals (for instance birds, even those who seem "allergic" to something, don't have an increase in the cell type that is generally associated with allergies). However, I do think that they could be less tolerant of different sources of vitamins and minerals, specifically vitamin A, and that can cause overstimulation and some nerve pain.