• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

6 week old Pineapple Conures Feeding Schedules, help please.

Mojo1675

Moving in
Real Name
Mojo1675
Hi,

I have two just under 6 week old Pineapple Conures Chicks that I am handfeeding. I pulled from the nest at 2 weeks due to the parents attacking and killing their chicks. I am a complete novice but am experienced with Birds due to owning a Timneh African Grey and Cockatiel for some years.

So my questions are ? I am currently formula feeding the chicks at 6 am, 12pm, 5pm and a top up about 10pm but the last few days the smaller one of the two has been reluctant to feed from a syringe and will only take from the spoon, also the most they can consume before their crops are full is approx 10 cc's per feed. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong? I double check the temperature and follow the instructions of consistency required for the appropriate age. The chicks are alert and playful and look healthy and have gained a couple of ounces over the past 4 weeks but I cannot help worry I am doing something wrong. Also what is the right age I should drop a feed and start to get them interested in adult food. They are both using their beaks for climbing and chewing (mainly me) but show no other signs of being interested. Any advice is welcomed.
upload_2018-8-2_11-23-9.jpeg

webchirp

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Chandra
@webchirp ? @karen256 ?

I don't have handfeeding experience. This is about cockatiels but it may still be helpful: Hand-Feeding and Weaning