• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

4-5 week baby, how much interaction?

Tito

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jenny T
Hey all, I'm new here :) I have some experience with grown up tiels, but with babies not so much. The chicks are being handfed by a breeder, but I might bring my baby home today. I've been shown how to feed him, how often, etc.

But i'm wondering, how much should I handle the baby between feedings? I'd want him to get to know me, but I also don't want to stress him. New surroundings and everything. He'll still be in a little box/cage, and not move into the bigger cage yet. I imagine it's gonna be a big change for him. Can i just have him on my lap and talk to him? How long and how much? Or should I give him mostly rest and peace during the day?

I would appreciate any help I can get! :)

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
A 4 week old chick needs a lot of sleep.
But hold him after feeding and talk to him while he nods off, then return him to the box. As he grows you will notice he is awake more and so you can have him out more with you. Just remember they still nap a lot.
On the first day, best to leave him be between feeds while he adjusts to his new surroundings.

Welcome to the forum :)
Please introduce him when he is home ❤

Tito

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jenny T
A 4 week old chick needs a lot of sleep.
But hold him after feeding and talk to him while he nods off, then return him to the box. As he grows you will notice he is awake more and so you can have him out more with you. Just remember they still nap a lot.
On the first day, best to leave him be between feeds while he adjusts to his new surroundings.

Welcome to the forum :)
Please introduce him when he is home ❤