• ALL Threads/Post in Rehome Highway will be reviewed for compliance to forum guidelines before being approved.
  • Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Looking for an older macaw

Kayla89

Meeting neighbors
Hi all. I was wondering if anyone new of any sweet, older macaws in the Houston area looking for a great home? I’ve been looking around for a few months, and I am having trouble finding one that would be a good fit for me (I am new to macaws but not to parrots). TIA.

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
When I got my Hank, I was looking for an older macaw (I'm no spring chicken). Hank was the oldest I could find in the PX. area and he was only 18, but what a treasure. He died seven years ago at 34 yo and my heart still hurts.

You are very wise to look for an older bird.

BeanieofJustice

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Steph
I don't know where they are located but @SherLar and @Hawk12237 have mentioned a 20 year old male blue and gold and a 16 year old female military macaw respectively.
Older macaws are the best, good luck in your search! :) I brought my Sam Axe home at (estimated) 20ish years old.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Are there any rescues near you? Sadly, there are usually a lot of macaws in need of homes at rescues.

ali_and_birdie

Meeting neighbors
Last edited:

Kayla89

Meeting neighbors
Are there any rescues near you? Sadly, there are usually a lot of macaws in need of homes at rescues.