• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Senegal Body Language

Owen

Checking out the neighborhood
I tried posting this in the Behavior Byway forum yesterday but haven't found much luck yet, so I apologize for the double post but I'm hoping someone here may be able to help better understand my new Senegal roommate based on experience with their own poi.

I've just adopted my girlfriends Senegal parrot this week and despite all the research I've been doing there are a couple of behaviors I'm having trouble interpreting.

Background: Kiwi is a 20 year old male, very much overly attached/bonded to my girlfriend who for the past year has had to leave Kiwi with her parents because her job involves travel. So this week I stepped in to foster Kiwi, it's my first time caring for a bird but I'm hoping the more relaxed environment and opportunity to get at least a few hours out of the cage a day will provide an increased quality of life for Kiwi. He doesn't seem terribly crazy about me yet and is definitely not interested in any sort of physical contact with me, but a combination of shared meal times and evenings with an open cage door (mainly spend on top of his cage) while I'm a few feet away on the couch seem to be building a good foundation of trust.

Onto the question, since I was first introduced to Kiwi, he would do this sort of agitated dance, stepping back and forth and weaving his head low and to the side, and then sometimes stop, turn his back to me and lift his wings with a slight quivering motion. I interpreted this all as fear / agitation, and as a way of communicating to give him more space.

However I'm now noticing that these two behaviors are often done separately and he does both of them regardless of how close I am to him, and in fact I've found him doing both actions while he is flock calling for me when I am out of the room entirely.