• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Lovebirds as a first bird?

Sticky Feets

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Karen
Hi all!! Newbie here! Never really had a bird before other than budgies my parents took care of as a child. Considering adopting a lovebird from a rescue. He’s currently caged with his sister. My question is would he be better off if I adopted both of them so he can have a companion when I’m not home? I would be more than happy to take both but again, have no bird experience. Also I will be starting residency in a few months with 40-80 hour work weeks depending on the month (most likely it’ll be about 50-60 per week most weeks, but our max cap is legally 80). I know intern year is busy but even once I become an attending several years down the road, doctors still chug out 40-80 hours work weeks. It’s gonna be like this until I retire. I’m looking at getting the AE flight cage so they have a ton of room. When I’m home, all my attention is focused on my animals (I have other exotics, snakes, tarantulas, geckos, but they’re super low maintenance) and my 2 dogs. Once the birds are tame and trusting of me I plan to include them with pretty much everything I do around the house (minus cooking). I do get a weekend (or at least part of a weekend) off every few weeks, and most weekends end up being short days where I get to come home early afternoon. What are people’s thoughts? Am I in over my head here? Also I haven’t even started the adoption application process yet (it’s pretty hefty and long) so I still have time to decide.