• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Newbie Here - Hi!

Skippy

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jane
New to this forum but have had many birds. Have had keets, lovebirds, cockatiels, and quakers. I am ready for a new baby and likely will get another Quaker. The hard part is finding one that is young, tame, and healthy. We cannot always trust what breeders and pet shops tell us. I live in Florida and you would think that available birds would be everywhere. But it has been a challenge so far. We do have bird fares, but even then, can I really trust them? Anyway, happy that I found this forum!

Davi

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Davi
Welcome to the Avian Avenue, @Skippy! Quakers do seem to be wonderful birds. I would also suggest looking at and considering adoptable birds looking for a new friend and home! :)

pawprintedheart

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Valerie
Welcome!!!

cassiesdad

Ripping up the road
Weather Authority
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Bob Weisman
Welcome to the Avenue! :)

Quakers are a dream bird for me, but alas, PA bans them. :(

I know it's been mentioned many times already...but please consider adoption...giving a bird a second chance does the human heart good...:heart:

charlieboy

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Steph
Welcome to AA!

I can't think of a single disadvantage of adopting, especially if you get a healthy bird if you can't afford a lot of vet care (though disabled/sick birds deserve adoption so much too!)

The bird I've had for the longest, a sweet white and blue budgie boy named Cookie, was such a wonder. I rehomed him when he was 3 years old, because his previous family was awaiting a third child and couldn't spend a lot of time with him.