• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures They don’t want to come out

KaeKae

Moving in
Real Name
Kaelin G.
My 3 little lovebirds got a bigger cage with plenty of toys 5 days ago.
And now they never want to come out anymore!
What do I do ? Do I force them out to socialize them while they are young or do I let them be and leave their door open for hours, as I have been doing, and they will eventually come out when they feel like it ??

That’s Dash, Jet, and Flip snoozing away hehe 36E8D59E-10E8-4DD8-9C92-1F467189D35E.jpeg

BeebeesMom

Strolling the yard
Hello - I am no expert. What worked for my lovie is teaching him the step up / down command first. You can try their favorite treat in your hand to coax them out. I wouldnt leave the cage door open. This can create dominance and safety issues. Read read read everything you can get your hands on to learn. Have a routine. Helps them know whats going on and build trust.

LunaLovebird

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Shutterbugs' Best
If you’re supervising and the room is safe, there’s nothing wrong with leaving the door open. Don’t force them. Let them get used to their new digs and they’ll come out when they’re ready.

JaclynBin

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Jaclyn
I'd absolutely not force them to do anything while you're still building trust (unless it's for health and safety reasons). Instead, entice them to come out or make the outside of their cage more exciting. I usually hang rope perches and favourite toys on the outside of my birds cages so they can easily return to it (and are motivated to do so) while they're flying about. It's a safe spot for many birds and they might be more likely to leave the confines of their cages if they know they can easily choose to return.