• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

One legged african grey

Leshika

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Leshika
Im currently an owner of a 5 month old african grey now i have an opportunity to purchase a one legged african grey who has no luck in finding a home.my problem is that i have no experience with a handicapped bird.so my question is that do you all think that it is a smart move to buy the bird?please help i need advice before i purchase the bird.

Brittany0208

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award

Brittany0208

Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Ah, I see. @Leshika I have a one-legged bird who is slightly larger than an African Grey, and I have had him for 6 months. Even though it's a struggle, I think you should definitely give this guy a home. AA and I will help you every step of the way. Any questions you have, ask away. Always glad to help! And Welcome! :):):)

TikiMyn

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Robin
Welcome! If you are financially able to(enough money for vet costs, double the food and toys etc) and enough time available, then yes! I think it Will be worth it:)

NirAntae

Walking the driveway
Real Name
Jennie
I had a Grey who was functionally one-legged - she had both legs, but one had been badly broken in the nest and by the time they noticed, the vet said it would be worse to try and fix it, so it stuck out at a rather stomach-churning angle XD Totally useless for 'normal bird things'.

That said, it didn't slow her down one bit except for walking on the ground. She couldn't hold onto big chunks of food, and of course 'foot toys' were right out, but she never seemed to notice the lack of them.