• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Bird mom needs a morale boost

Onhsid

Checking out the neighborhood
I have been a bird mom to a lovely green cheek and patagonian conure for 13 and 10 years now. I got my g.c when I was 16 and my p.c when I was 19. Like most adolescents I was not thinking about the future. I love them both dearly and they have been the only consistent factor in my life over the years. But recently I feel like I am not being fair to them because they are both truly amazing feathered family members. I do not know if it is the stress of my life situation right now or what. I do not know anyone else who has birds so I was hoping to find some guidance here.
So let me lay it out a bit.
I am an early emerging artist, which has not been easy or had any financial stability. Four years ago I had an opportunity to move to Alaska from my home town of Indiana. So I packed up with the kids (birds) and we moved into a tiny studio for two years. The move was incredibly stressful on them, right after the move I almost lost my p.c to some sickness. After the two years we moved to Utah for a year and now we are in Montana where I am attending a graduate program. We have had to move 3 times in the past year which is becoming increasingly difficult and expensive with the kids. With in the past two years I have had to travel for training for a month here and two weeks there. Luckily I have an incredibly patient partner who has cared for them while I am away even though they do not care for him. My partner is currently still in Utah so I am finding sitters and such for my travels which I know is stressful on them.