• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Pictures Kuiper ... coloration

Tiel Feathers

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Deanna
I don’t know, but he’s gorgeous!

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Know nothing about his parents. Looks like spangle coloration to me but then I'm far from an expert. I think he had a little bit when he was younger but the white coloration has increased.

I went back and looked at a photo I took when I first got him but it was taken from the front. However I can see a few white spots but not as obvious as they are now. The mirror behind him needed to be cleaned so some of the white spots are not on him but are on the mirror. There are white spots towards the front of the wing. The colors are off on him, too, and looks like he has some pink but he doesn't.

kuiper baby.jpg

iamwhoiam

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Thanks Monica. As far as I can tell his tail is solid. I'm looking at one of his molted tail feathers. I can't check him right now because he is sleeping. I got him when he was just a few months old. He didn't have all those white markings when he was young. I wish that I knew his parentage.

Monica

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Monica
In that first picture, he already has a clear face, so if he was a pearl, he would have molted out the majority of his pearls by the time you got him.