• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cage Recommendations

ChipperChirper

Checking out the neighborhood
I am sure there are eyes being rolled at this question being asked; as I know that it gets asked time and time again.

Budgies prefer width rather than height, correct? I have been looking around on Amazon for a flight cage but have seen so many varying opinions and reviews on each cage. Would love to chat with you guys about what ones you all have experience with.

I need something big enough for a trio of feathered fluffs. I definitely want a flight cage as I do want it to be big enough for them to fly but I worry that some of the spaces on the big cages might be too wide? 1/2 an inch is what I have read for budgies. I'm used to Cockatiels-- this is my first time having budgies and they just seem so tiny and breakable. Trying to make sure I do them right.

Roseicollis

Meeting neighbors
The Critter Nation is honestly what I would go for if I was looking to get budgies. Even though it’s technically supposed to be for rodents and the like, it seems like a solid cage.

The front doors take up an entire side (awesome for cleaning!) and the dimensions are way better than the ones you find in bird cages designed for the tiny fids. The only thing I think might be an issue is how low it is to the ground. Best of luck!

lotus15

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Coco
Flight cages are super popular and I think generally considered pretty good options. Buy one from a reputable place with good customer service would be my recommendation. @webchirp also recently got a great cage... I think the large "Elegant" flight cage and posted a great review: AE larger elegant flight | Avian Avenue Parrot Forum