• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Vanya's Clicker Training Adventures

vanyasmom

Walking the driveway
A couple weeks ago, I brought this delightful little budgie home from the pet store. Vanya is young, under three months as he has not had his first molt. His head strips still go down to his cere. I am so grateful for all the tips and advice that I have received simply by reading this forum's threads, and going back pages and pages. I am new here and do not know how to tag people to give them credit, so forgive me for not doing so. I do prefer when possible to give credit where credit is due. So if someone can tell me how to tag someone, that would be appreciated.

Anyway, as I am new to discovering just how extremely intelligent and talented my little budgie is I am willing to "experiment" a bit, to see just how much he can learn from via "monkey see, monkey do" as John on here put it. The only way I have to do that is via You Tube videos. I think that they DO actually seem to help.

At first, the clicker's noise was scary. It took a bit for him to get desensitize him to the sound of it. So, our first few days with the clicker were just click and treat. And sometimes we back up to just click and treat and usually warm up with about 3 or 4 of them. He gets 1-3 bites now during the warm ups. I actually watched a video and counted bites that were given so I could know what to do.