• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Need some Lori advice

jlynn

Meeting neighbors
i am not new to parrots but I am new to Lorikeets. I have had my beautiful boy for about two weeks now and I have some concerns.

My major concern is food. He will only eat fruit and is picky about what kind. So far apples are the go to fruit. He also eats orange, watermelon, sweet corn. I have tried grapes, blackberries, strawberries, honeydew, nectarine, mango - he won't eat them.

In addition, he will not eat nectar. I have Roudybush. He won't eat it dry or mixed.

He also won't eat the Pretty Bird lory pellets that he was reportedly eating for the breeder. I have tried moistening them and dry. Nope! He won't touch them.

I am at a loss and worry that he isn't getting the nutrition he needs.

My other more minor concern is that he is very beaky and likes to bite fingers and sometimes even my face/neck. He loves to cuddle and get close but almost always "bites" when doing so. Any tips to curb this behavior? Or is this just something lories do?

Thanks in advance for any help!

*just a note, he has been to the vet and all tests were negative.

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
Bump.

WendyN

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Wendy
A Belated welcome!
I do not have any experience with lories but hopefully someone will respond soon.

aooratrix

Macawaholic
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew

JAM

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Hi there, how old is your lorikeet, have you had it DNA sexed and what tests did you have done?

jlynn

Meeting neighbors