• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

14 week old moustache parakeet not weaned

Sinéad

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
sinead
I need everyone's help please. I brought home a 14 week old moustache parakeet yesterday and was iven some formula with him and told by the breeder to give a syringe twice a day. I have tried this and he is crying for food constantly. He eats some of the seed mix i was given with him but not any fruit or veg i have offered. I have given him two syringes half an hour ago and this is the first time he hasn't cried since i brought him home yesterday. i know he is telling me he is hungry. I have run out of formula now and will have to get some tomorrow. how do i wean him?? I have no experience with this and was totally unprepared for it. I have two other birds that i adopted as adults so I have never had a baby bird. Please help me :(

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
I would contact the breeder and ask for her help. Can you get more formula today?

(And welcome to the forum!)

@karen256 ? @Birdbabe ?

Last edited:

Sinéad

Real Name
sinead
I have messaged the breeder and he hasnt replied!! I can get more formula tomorrow (it is 7pm where I am now) but I don't know what formula my baby was used to. Does this matter? Is this normal for 14 weeks?

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle