• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My very first Amazon

Wasabisaurus

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Welcome. She is beautiful. Thank you for adopting her.

If I may offer a piece of advice that I sure wish someone had given me is to go totally at her pace and let her indicate to you what she will and will not accept. It's amazing she let you pet her and you were able to give her a kiss. Fortunately, Amazons are very clear on what they will and will not accept.

Also, there is a lot of misinformation out there about keeping Amazons. Don't pay any heed about that advice that you have to be the big bird and show her who is boss. Didn't work with my hot-headed (but adorable) male. Amazon people here know their stuff. I am still learning.

Are you doing to have her DNAed? Wasabi's adoption record listed him as a female. That was silly. He has all the behavior of a male.

Clueless

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
I strongly recommend letting a vet do DNA on any bird. Mine told me if health issues arose, it takes a while to determine sex....lots of different medical issues in male/female parrot bodies.

aooratrix

Macawaholic
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
Welcome. She is beautiful. Thank you for adopting her.

If I may offer a piece of advice that I sure wish someone had given me is to go totally at her pace and let her indicate to you what she will and will not accept. It's amazing she let you pet her and you were able to give her a kiss. Fortunately, Amazons are very clear on what they will and will not accept.