• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

will they be friends ???

ergunm

Meeting neighbors
Hello, I am new to lovebirds, it has been a bit over 3 months since we got our first lovie. Since there are lots of experienced owners here I wanted to ask some recommendations and also share my experience.

I have two lovebirds now, first one Totto, maybe he, is about 5.5 months old. And the new one, Ringo, is just 2 months old. I keep them in separate cages, but I am hoping that they will be friends so we can get them out at the same time.

It has been 2 weeks since we got Ringo. So far Ringo seems to be a fearless little bird. After she got home she got adapted nearly immediately and was never afraid of us. She got on my hand the second day and wants to get out of cage.

So far inside the cages they are doing fine. As I understand lovebirds take time to get used to other lovebirds, so I gave my older one some time. But since they are very young and doing fine so far this weekend I tried to get both of them out.

It went kind of ok, but with some twist. I was watching out my older bird if he attacks the younger one, but Totto was actually acting very nice, moving slowly to younger one and slowly trying to touch. To my surprise, it was actually the younger one who was a bit aggressive. She looked like she is attacking and aiming his feet, then he got scared and fly away. She tried to chase him but she is no match to him at flying yet so came back tired. Then he came back near her and same thing happened again. To prevent any accident I put them back in their cages. I think Totto is interested to be friends but Ringo doesn't seem to care.

Is it just because she is too young? or do they need more time?