• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Mother not feeding baby canaries?

Adam21

Strolling the yard
Hey there folks, this is my first time with canary babies. I originally had a male canary, who would sing loudly all day long. I love him very much, and would do my best to make him happy and be around people. He did seem to start getting sad a bit, and I knew he needed another canary with them. So what better than a female! Ever since, he seems at peace, still sings a little. Well, now he has babies!

Two have hatched last night, one this morning, with an remaining egg yet to hatch. The mother is still sitting on the nest and doesn't seem to be feeding them. I put half an boiled egg and a cucumber chunk in there, to see if they would feed them that. The male is feeding the female still, and I'm sure he'd feed the chicks if she would move. The chicks seem to be pretty weak and rarely lifting their heads for food.

I have tried feeding one of them with a eye dropper, it doesn't work well like a syringe. So I may need to hit a store soon for a decent sized syringe to feed them Kaytee bird formula. My question is, is this behavior normal? Will she start feeding them after the last egg hatches? Or do I have to intervene?

Also, all they have is the normal daily canary diet(seeds). And I throw in boiled egg in there too. While I make the bird formula and try feeding them but she doesn't seem to want to move out the nest.

Now I just took a peek, she appears to be feeding them or itching herself, I can't get close since she gets a bit nervous. Is the normal canary diet sufficient enough and will they feed themselves or should I intervene at all?

Thanks a lot, sorry for the essay, but this is my first time and I would greatly appreciate any help! :)

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue