• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

My journey with Pellets/feeding 2 Macaws

2macshan

Strolling the yard
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I began my feeding journey when I got my first macaw in Jan 2015 as a weanling. He is a blue and gold macaw. (Both birds are fully flighted btw). I am a biologist/scientist and after reading what I feel like was the ENTIRE internet, upon getting him I switched him to what I thought was the healthiest diet possible. Harrison's High Potency, many fruits/veg(sprouts) daily, and tree nuts(we tried to offer TOPs but he wouldn't eat those-yet). We had him on this diet for 9 months. He was seriously a crazy bird. SO MUCH energy- too much. So high strung all of the time. So many playful but very painful bites. So many HOLES in ALL of our clothes. He was a flying Tasmanian devil. He barely would touch his veggies as he preferred the HHP, fruits, and nuts. Keeping fruits, veggie attempt, and nuts the same we switched to Harrison's Maintenance - we fed both peppered and reg. We noticed a slight decrease in his craziness(not much though) and fed this way for a few more months. Then we found a cool group with a different feeding style and at this point we would try ANYTHING to have a more manageable bird. We tried to feed a mostly veggie chop in the morning and ZUPREME at night. I really dragged my feet trying zupreme b/c I feel like the ingredients are inferior/just corn. Our bird loved them and was a tiny bit better than on HHP but still not eating chop. (At this time we did try 1 bag of ROUDYBUSH and he would choke on these. I think it was my bird not the pellets but w/e we didn't re-puchase.) Finally this April we got our second bird, at the time he was 8 months- a scarlet macaw. He cam from a GREAT breeder already eating chop like a champ, sprouts, etc. He was SO much CALMER like a normal bird. He came