• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

To get a caique or to not...

Glutes

Moving in
Hi, I recently introduced myself to the forum very briefly. A bit of background: I have never owned birds before, however I am a reptile hobbyist and I just love all animals. I first discovered my love of parrots when I handled a maturing b&g macaw named Rico. He was super sweet, until it was time to go back in the cage. He climbed on top of his cage and would not come down for anyone. I wandered around the store for a while and then came back. He was within reach. I approached him calmly, but did not make a fast attempt to put him back in. Instead, I watched him for a minute and then asked him to step up. He lunged at me and let out a little screech, but did not move. After some gentle prodding, he finally put a leg on me. I then quickly scooped him up and with my other arm, put it around his body so that he could not get away. He objected, but I got him in the cage. Of course, I probably didn't do everything right, but I felt so proud and absolutely fascinated with this intelligent animal. I am a female minor. I know it's often discouraged to get a parrot while still a teen, however, my situation is different than average. Due to personal struggles, I have no social life whatsoever and I probably never will have much of one. My entire life revolves around animals. In my free time, I am with animals or reading about them. Again, due to personal reasons, my future is somewhat predictable. I will not go to college, I will become a vet assistant, live with my sister, and ultimately we will own our own reptile specialty store. I've already been researching parrots for 6-7 months now, and I've been spending time with them at pet stores every chance I get. Being my typical self, I'm drawn to the more finicky species. At first, I thought I would be best off with a