• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Ringneck training

72martin0

Moving in
Real Name
Martin
Hi everyone, this is my first time here and I need a bit of help.

I've had an Indian ringneck parakeet for about two months now. She is absolutely beautiful, but I've never come across a more nervous bird in my life!

I've been trying to train her, but the only progress I've made is being able to approach her cage without her freaking out. Hands are an absolute no go. She'll climb, fly, jump, just do anything to get as far away as possible.

On the upside, she has started whistling back to me, and as long as I'm not in her cage, she'll even sit at the bars watching and whistling.

Does anybody have any advice in regards to hand training? I know it'll take time, but I at least thought I'd have made some progress by now.

Many thanks!

Attachments

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Welcome to the forum!

72martin0

Moving in
Real Name
Martin
Hi. I found this really helpful with my aviary raised girl.
Working with Fearful Parrots: A Study in Videos | Learning Parrots

I'll try to add some more helpful tips in the morning if I can think of any :)
This is fantastic. Thank you! My issue with Opal is that she won't stop panicking when my hand goes in the cage, although actually today I've been able to move slightly closer to her holding millet. She won't calm down though, she'll continue to pace back and forth along her perch quickly.

InTheAir

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Claire
I'm half awake now, I'll try to add something useful.

Firstly, I don't think one should put ones hand in the birds cage unless the bird is happy for you to. Ringnecks respond incredibly well to having their body language respected.